It's very hard to like French people. Not because I'm not willing to like them (believe me, I'm trying my hardest to like them) but because they are just so hostile/rude/all about the staring. Anyway, at present, I have 3 favourite Frenches. That is to say, 3 Frenches that I like.
Candidat #1: The man who does my history lectures. This man is a true historian. I'm talking flailing arms, raising and then lowering his tone of voice, doing funny voices. Seriously, the man is a legend. Plus, he's quite helpful to me, when I bother to turn up to his TDs. And, when I asked where I needed to "inscrire", he was like "I'll show you! He won't be there, but most people have trouble finding it!" And, he knows of Leeds and Lancast-air. All is well.
Candidate #2: The woman who does the English theme class. Theme is basically French-English translation. It's great. And the woman is helpful. And speaks to us in English. She is helpful. Oh, I mentioned that already. Well, she is.
Cadidate #3: The woman who does my Cirefe class. The écrit class. Not oral. I knew from the start that she was a good egg. She was very helpful, and looked a bit like Prof. Trelawney from Harry Potter. Don't let that put you off, 'cos she's still a jolly nice lady. I emailed her asking if we could move our test, cos I wanted to go home. Then sent another one saying that I wasn't going home after all, cos it was too much fuss. She replied lamenting my inability to go home, and wished me a "tres bonne journée". I rarely get a "bonne journée", let alone a "tres bonne journée". So I was most content. Based on that, I think she is my favourite French.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment