I am getting so bad with my bloggs. So, I shall make this a lengthy one, then blogg sooner. What's important right now, is that it's the holidays. Well, I shall resort to my lovely lists to try to create a chronological list of events...
Thursday: Involved the aforementioned history test. It involved 5 questions, on simple stuff. I won't lie. I made a lot of it up. I hope he marks it based on our French. Cos I'm pretty sure my French is sound. The test was followed by erm... The teacher talking at us for another hour and half, and then a presentation, which was naturally ripped apart. As per.
Friday: I went to my 8h15 today. It was a rarity. I find that I just cannot be bothered to go. It is a bad habit. I did not go to my 14h30 though. I figured that my presence would not be missed. I hope he did not ask "Ou est l'anglais?" Anyway. Outage was had. "Vino Martin" emerged. The night ended abruptly as the alcohol wore off, and Nick, Robert and myself walked home. Via McDonalds. I think. I forget. Oh, we did. Cos we had food in town before we left. Plus McDonalds. Bad times.
Sam'di: Well, for Fiona's birthday, she decided we all had to go ice skating. Oh my. If you have ever seen me ice skating, it is as graceful as watching a pidgeon on ice. If pidgeons could ice skate. Anyway, I lasted 5 laps. Then fell. In front of people who laughed, realised I had seen them laughing, then lookedaway, and laughed some more. Their actions have been noted, and there will be reprisals. Derek claimed to have never ice skated before, but took to it look a duck to water. Damn him. He will be representing America at the Winter Olympics (EEeeeeee) in Montreal next year. Obviously. The soir involved outage, after pre-drinking at Fiona's. Most people were drunk. Very drunk. But, we all (except Derek and those who decided to go home) got into the club. 13€ it cost to go in. THIRTEEN! This included any drink we wanted, but this is not the point. It was too expensive. Drinks alone were 10€. So naturally, I bought two. I am terribly generous when drunk. Things happened in that club. Things that will never be mentioned again. Well, okay. I liked a pole. Not a Polish person. An actual pole. Ashamed. McDonalds ended the night. Again.
Sunday: nothing.
Monday: skipped a lecture. Again. Went to town, to C&A to be precise, and bought a new coat and shoes. So happy. I wore the coat around in the cold, and it kept me nice and toasty.
Tuesday: Missed my 11h30 class, cos I couldn't be bothered getting up. Ashamed. We did a translation in English. Nice and simple, despite the whole sentence that I couldn't translate. I hope it wasn't important. We then ended up in "version", which is English to French translation. Solid. Turns out there was a test. I have a new found hatred of Harry Potter. Really difficult, flouncy English. We had to translate the first two paragraphs of the fifth book. We are waiting for the law suit from JK herself. Epic fail. Some people have emerged outside Carrefour. At little desks and high chairs. One of them got me on Tuesday. Asking me things. I said "j'ai pas entendu", and she then shouted loudly "Pouvez-vous lire en Francais?", I said no, and fucked off to do my shopping. Bitch.
Wednesday: I finally got my free monies forms sorted. They were faxed off a la 1992. Then I emailed a woman to check they had been received. They had. I was happy. I met Giusy, and we worked on our debate. She lives in luxury, in town. Really centre of town. It is exactly the kind of location I want to live in when I grow up and move to France to live. On the way back, as the metro left the tunnel, and came above ground for Pontchaillou, I noticed a weird sign saying "vitesse=bruit". It confused me, and I wonder why speed does equals noise. Answers on a stamped addressed envelope.
Thursday: Test results. Emmi and I somehow got 6/6,5 out of 10. The teacher was most impressed. "C'est bien. Vous savez les mots plus précis comme "légitimité" et "équilibre". Vous voulez faire un éxposé?" He was impressed we knew what legitimity and equilibrium were in French. And wants us to do a presentation. It can even be on something English like "Chartisme". We said we would consider it. This means no. Then followed an afternoon of panicking, followed by the debate we had to lead. Apparently it is a very English thing to airquote. This caused giggles amongst the group. I'm unsure how to take this. I feel self conscious about my airquotes now. All went well, so I cannot complain.
Oh. And rain has returned to Rennes. No me gusta. Pas de tout.
Also, AC mentioned this website. Let's see if I get on it. www.blogsurfer.us
I probably won't. I'm not of the American persuasion.
I also put Facebook into "Lingua Latina". Mihi placet.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment