Well, Monday involved more lessons. Well, only the one CM (lecture), which was pleasant as expected. Nothing too heavy. The only thing I dislike about that lecture is that it's at 8h15, and that the lecturer keeps making jokes. Or rather, keeps TRYING to make jokes. He laughs, noone else does. I'm glad I don't get it. Me and Rob made a snap decision to change our modules completely too. Which means I now have the rest of Monday's off, and that I can go to the later lecture for that module. Plus Tuesday becomes "Spanish day", or "Martin-day" as Liz likes to call it. Wednesday is still free, and Thursday is history day, as is Friday. It also means that I can do the later lecture on Monday, making every day a marginally later start, except Friday. Stupid Friday. Some other stuff probably happened on Monday. As always. I forget what it was though...
Tuesday brought a day of Spanish, commencing with Grammar at 9h15. I don't understand how everyone in first year is such a good level. Well, I suppose I can, but I like to think I don't. *special*. Anyway, it was all about accentuation etc, dipthong things, "llatus" (which turned out to hiatus) that and so on. At the end, with the usual "Est-ce qu'il y a des questions?" my hand went up, and off rolled the "Je suis étudiant Erasmus" speech that I have now learnt off by heart. The woman was very nice about it, so all is good. That said, for the mysterious "thème" class. This basically involved sitting down, shutting up and translation Text 1 from French into Spanish. First problem: what the fuck does this mean in English?! Second issue: France cannot make good dictionaries. The middle of my French-Spanish dictionary had a grammar section with some verb tables in. Obviously they weren't ordered in a logical order; i.e. alphabetically. Or even in most frequently used verb order. Stupid France. Anyway, one hour, and a lot of the imperfect subjunctive later, we emerged. Wanting to change desperately to English-French translation class. This may happen next week.
Sinéad and Rob also found an Irish shop in town (apparently Irish products are in demand over here...) and bought me some beans. Actual baked beans. That said, they were 'Batchelors', a brand that I've never heard of, but they were marvellous nonetheless. I added the traditional nob of butter and a splash of milk, to make them extra nice. Then commenced the eating. Om. Nom. Nom.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment