Saturday, 5 September 2009

Touriste? Anglais?

Well, today involved a trip to Marché des Lices. It is a huge street market mingling in with a real indoor market thing, in the centre of town. It's quite amazing looking at all the fruit and veg, and dead animals, and live crabs and lobsters, and mouldy cheese, and fresh, rock-hard bread. I was taking a photo of a man's dead chickens, when he asked me "touriste?" which then led onto "oui, anglais", and he then proceded to tell me how "chicken" is French. Long story short: coq's are chic hen's, from Latin via Old French. This was followed by "oh god. those crabs are moving" and "oh god. that poor lobster". Experience is not the word. This was then followed by watching some weird French band/tap dancing session. It involved a band playing music, and a woman tapping away with her shoes. Followed by a woman coming round with leaflets for lessons. For everyone but me. Evil wench.

More wandering later, we went out again. On the way to meet everyone, a French child asked me if I was a student at the university, I said "oui, mais j'suis anglais". This was naturally followed by all the english he knew, and "goodbye", and then by a traditional 'stone the englishperson'. I kid you not. A french child threw stones at me because I was english. I will have my revenge. Mark my words, I will get my own back on that little shite.

I also bought camembert today. I don't normally like cheese, but I thought "hey! when I france...", so I then proceded to try and find some camembert. I'll be honest, it was a challenge. There were so many different brands. The next mission was getting into it. It came in a tiny wee wooden box, then it was wrapped in plastic, then I had to get through the layer of mould (it's meant to be there) to the creamy cheese. I was unsure about the layer of mould. It was all good, so I can't complain.

Tomorrow is Sunday = lie in! Although, I'm sure the bakery shuts at 12, so I may go for a baguette. On verra...

No comments:

Post a Comment