Well, beaucoup de choses have been happening here in Rennes. Yesterday, Robert and I dragged ourselves to a history talk. About doing history at Rennes 2. The basic message was "If your French isn't that good, don't bother." We also learned where Hall B (pronounced "'all bay") is, and where the subject library is. Both were letdowns.
Some other stuff happened, then we went to pick up our 'Korrigo' cards (local transport cards) and our student cards. With the student cards, we have been told since last week that they were not ready. They still weren't ready today. I had to watch as a man cut down my face, quite dramatically cut down, might I add, then attach it to my card. It's so flimsey. I'm not impressed. Plus, I look scarily like Liz on my card. Or Liz looks scarily like me. Either way, not good. Korrigo cards in hand, we went to town, cos we could. And dossed in a café, with cider. God, Bretagne knows how to make ruddy good cider. Drinking on an empty stomach does not equal a good idea. As I learnt later in the night. Outage occured, which mostly involved sitting in an Irish pub watching France v. Serbia. I don't know who won. We moved on, then were shamed by another English person, for our lack of inebriation. I quickly drank my drink and drank more. Needless to say, lightweight me + empty stomach + alcohol = quite tipsy! The drunkest I've been abroad in over a year! Yay, me! We met French people. I don't know how, but we did. It seems that polite French conversation starts with "vous n'etes pas hétérosexuel, non?". Obviously. We left the bar, mainly because the woman told us to go as she was shutting the bar. Waited for the bus, only to be told by French people that the night bus is only on at the weekends. Walking happened.
I also got told by Frenchies that my accent sounds really French. Even by one that they thought I was French. I felt so proud.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment